15 Teachers Favorite Audiobooks for 8th Graders

15 Teachers’ Favorite Audiobooks for 8th Graders

A complete list of 15 incredible audiobooks for kids from kindergarten through eighth grade.

The Book Guide® is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Audiobooks are becoming increasingly popular among young readers. There are several reasons why parents should consider buying audiobooks for their kids. They have become a great way to listen to books and stories, especially for those who struggle with reading. Some even say they are better than listening to normal audiobooks. Here are 15 amazing audiobooks for kids and teens. These will surely inspire them to read more.

Here are 15 audiobooks teachers recommend for 8th graders.


American Royals

(Free with Audible Trial)

Princess Samantha was always a rebellious princess. She’s the spare, not the heiress, so no one minds her dating or partying too hard. She has a beautiful sister who is literally perfect. She’s demure and sweet, but she knows that the crown comes before everything else! They’ll either be awarded a crown or become a shocking royal disaster.


The Heir

(Free with Audible Trial)

The story of America and Maxon‘s fairy-tale romance captivated audiences from the very first page. Find out what happens after happily-ever-after in this fourth captivating book, perfect for fans of Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & The Dawn. Twenty years ago, American singer America Singer entered the competition for Prince Maxon’s heart. It’s time for Princess Eadlyn’s Selection.


Bridge to Terabithia

(Free with Audible Trial)

This beloved Newbery medal-winning book by best-selling author Katharine Paterson is a modern masterpiece of friendship and loss. This middle-grade novel would be a good choice for tweens in grades five to six. It could even be used in school settings. It’s a fun activity for children that keeps them occupied when they’re not in school.


Everything, Everything

(Free with Audible Trial)

A heartwarming coming-of-age tale for anyone who has ever felt different. A new neighbor moves into an apartment building and begins a complicated relationship that challenges everything she’s always believed.


Flowers for Algernon

(Free with Audible Trial)

Charlie Gordon, a janitor born with unusually low intelligence, was selected as the perfect subject for a new experiment that hopes to increase his intelligence. Charlie just wants to be smart and have lots of friends, but he gets turned into a genius by the treatment.


City of Bones: The Mortal Instruments

(Free with Audible Trial)

When 15-year old Clary Fray heads to the Pandemonium Club, she has no idea that she’ll see a murder. She doesn’t expect to see a murder committed by three teenage boys who are covered in strange symbols and wielding weird weapons. Then the body vanishes into thin air. It’s hard to report a crime when the murderers are invisible and when there is nothing to show that a boy was killed. Was he a boy?


A Wrinkle in Time

(Free with Audible Trial)

A groundbreaking science fiction and fantasy novel by Madeleine L’Engle. This audiobook includes a preface read by the film director, a foreword read, an introduction read by the author, an afterword read by the author’s granddaughter, and a postscript read by the author.


Children of Blood and Bone

(Free with Audible Trial)

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi is a stunning world of dark magic and danger. When Zélie was a child, she used to play in the soil of Orïsha, which was full of magic. But everything changed when magic disappeared. When Zélie was just a baby, she was taken from her parents by a cruel king who wanted to kill everyone with magical powers. Only a few people are left who can use magic, and they need to keep their powers secret.


Six of Crows

(Free with Audible Trial)

Ketterdam: A bustling hub of international trade, where anything can be had at any price. Kaz is offered a job that could be worth millions if he pulls it off. But he can’t do it alone. Kaz’s crew is all that stands between the world and destruction, but if they don’t kill one another first.


They Both Die at the End

(Free with Audible Trial)

On 5th September at 12:01 AM, Death-Cast calls two people to tell them they’re going to die. Mateo and Rufus are both looking to make a new acquaintance on their End Day. For different reasons, however, they’re both looking to make a friend. There’s an app for that and through it, Rufus meets up with his friend Mateo for one last great adventure. They’re going to live their lives in a single day.


Turtles All the Way Down

(Free with Audible Trial)

Aza had no intention of pursuing the mystery of fugitive billionaire, Russell Pickett, but she’s willing to take the risk for a hundred thousand dollars. Her best friend, Daisy, is eager for them to investigate. So together, they travel the short distance and broad divide that separates them from Russell Pickett’s son, Davis.


Clap When You Land

(Free with Audible Trial)

The stunning new novel by the 2019 Carnegie Medal-winning author of The Poet X. Shortlisted for the Waterstones Book Prize. Camino Rios loves the summers when her father comes to visit her in the Dominican Republic But this time, as he was waiting for his flight, Camino arrived at the airport to see a crowd of crying people.


The Hazel Wood

(Free with Audible Trial)

Seventeen-year old Alice and her mother have been traveling for most of Alice’s life, always one step ahead of the strange misfortune that has been following them. When Alice’s grandmother, the recluse author of a book of dark fairy tales, dies alone at her estate, the Hazel Wood, Alice learns how bad her own luck can really be.


Wilder Girls

(Free with Audible Trial)

It’s been 18 months since the school was quarantined. The Tox turned everyone into strange and savage creatures, the teachers died off, one by one. Cut off from the main island, the girls don’t dare go beyond the school’s fence where the Tox makes the woods wild and dangerous They wait for the end as the Tox takes their bodies, making them sick and foreign, things breaking out of them, bits falling off.


The Hate U Give




(Free with Audible Trial)

Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter navigates two worlds in Angie Thomas’s powerful young adult novel, “The Hate U Give.” By day, Starr attends a wealthy suburban prep school, code-switching to fit in with her predominantly white classmates. But at night, she returns to her close-knit, African American neighborhood of Garden Heights. This fragile balance shatters when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Thrust into the national spotlight, Starr grapples with grief, anger, and the complexities of racial injustice. Torn between her two worlds, she must find her voice and decide how to fight for what’s right.

Related Posts
30 Life-Changing Books About Addiction & Recovery
Read More

30 Life-Changing Books About Addiction & Recovery

Discover the top books on addiction and recovery, including insightful and inspiring reads that offer guidance and support for individuals battling addiction. This blog post focuses on smoking and tobacco, alcoholism, drug dependency, and sexual addiction, providing a valuable resource for those seeking lifelong recovery.
Read More

The Lunar Chronicles Book Series

Cinder, a skilled mechanic, is a cyborg. She's a second class citizen with a mysterious past who is reviled by her stepmom and blamed for her stepsister's illness. But when her life became entangled with the handsome prince Kai's, she suddenly found herself at the center of a galactic struggle, and a forbidden romance. Between duty and freedom, loyalty, and betrayal, she must discover secrets about her past in an attempt to protect her world's present and future.
mistborn book series in order
Read More

Mistborn Book Series in Order

The "Mistborn" book series by author Brandon Sanderson is a must-read for any fantasy lover. Set in a world where magic is fueled by metals, the series follows the story of Vin, a street urchin who discovers she has the power to manipulate metals.
Books by Colson Whitehead
Read More

Books by Colson Whitehead

Colson Whitehead is a graduated from Harvard College American author of eight novels, including his debut work The Intuitionist. He has also written essays about the city and is a public speaker.
wheel of time series in order
Read More

The Wheel of Time Books Series

The Wheel of Time is a book series by Robert Jordan. Set in both our past and future, this epic fantasy follows the saga of a young boy who is destined to face evil but he must also face his destiny. Since its debut in 1990, The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan has captured millions of readers and listeners worldwide with its scope, original ideas, and compelling characters.
Dating Audiobooks for Women
Read More

Dating Audiobooks for Women: How to Win the Game and Find True Love!

Ladies, are you tired of swiping right on dating apps and still not finding the right person? Do you feel like you've tried everything to find love but nothing seems to work? Well, we have the solution you've been looking for! Dating audiobooks for women are the latest trend that's taking the dating world by storm and helping women everywhere find the love and happiness they deserve.