Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy. Chaos Rising free

Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy. Chaos Rising (2020)

This book follows a younger Thrawn doing what he needs to do to save the Ascendancy. 

Beyond the edge of the galaxy lie the Unknown Regions, known collectively to those who inhabit them as the Chaos. Strange creatures inhabit these famously impassable regions, and many ships have been lost trying to explore them. The Chaos is home to several planets and systems, among them the planet of Csilla, homeworld of the Chiss Ascendancy. The events of Chaos Rising revolve around this world, but the reader is taken throughout the Chaos in this page-turning first entry in legendary Star Wars author Timothy Zahn’s new Thrawn Ascendancy trilogy.

Get this book on Amazon:

The Book Guide® is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

When he writes his own books, he has this overtone of Sci-Fi and military based storytelling that isn’t in his normal Star Wars novels. If you take out the Star Wars elements of this book(which are surprisingly few), then this really just works as a generic Sci-Fi book by Timothy Zahn, only it’s really written excellently.

“This book features rich worldbuilding, masterfully weaving together the stories of families and their histories, palace intrigue to rival that of the Dune Chronicles, governmental systems, and fully fleshed out cultures and civilizations.”

The Book Guide® Editor

In Chaos Rising, Csilla is attacked. At around the same time, a refugee ship is found floating in the Chaos, with everyone aboard murdered in cold blood, and no discernible motive to be found. Are the events related? Who is responsible? Seeking answers, and forced to navigate a minefield of obstacles which include inter-family power struggles within the Ascendancy’s Nine Ruling Families and political maneuvering by the Syndicure (the Ascendancy’s supreme ruling body), is the brilliant military tactician known in some circles by his full name of Mitth’raw’nuruodo, but more commonly by his shortened name of Thrawn.

One thing about this book that is unique is it’s humor. There is a lot of situational humor and funny dialogue that isn’t normally present in Timothy Zahn books.

This book features rich worldbuilding, masterfully weaving together the stories of families and their histories, palace intrigue to rival that of the Dune Chronicles, governmental systems, and fully fleshed out cultures and civilizations. The collective whole was quite impressive. I also loved the Memories chapters, which further build Thrawn’s character by showing rare vulnerabilities and lapses in his decision-making, making him more personable.

The Audiobook version is remarkable. Marc Thompson does a fantastic job narrating this fun adventure. The characters are superb, the worldbuilding is top-notch, and the occasionally tedious Thrawn is otherwise masterfully realized.  Chaos Rising is one of the better Star Wars books you can listen to.

Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy. Chaos Rising (2020) by Timothy Zahn

Dune (2007) By: Glennon Doyle
4.8 5 0 1
Very Good
  • by The Book Guide® Editors
    4.8 rating
    4.8/5 Excellent
Total Score
Related Posts
The Hunger Games Catching Fire audiobook free
Read More

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2009)

Victory in the 74th game has not been all that sweet for surprise double-victors Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark. And it is extremely sour for the reigning government. Katniss had shown them up big time when she publicly defied the gamemasters to keep from having to kill Peeta, an act of sedition as much as it was an act of courage and honor.
Malibu Rising Free Audiobook
Read More

Malibu Rising (2021)

Malibu Rising follows the story of four famous brothers throw an epic party to mark the end of the summer season. But over the course of 24 hours, the family drama will change their lives forever.
Practice Makes Perfect Audiobook Free by Sarah Adams
Read More

Practice Makes Perfect (2023)

Practice Makes Perfect is a romantic comedy novel by Sarah Adams, set in Rome, Kentucky. It follows Annie Walker, a flower shop owner, as she searches for her perfect match amid strict tutoring and practice dates.
Everything I Never Told You Audiobook Free by Celeste Ng
Read More

Everything I Never Told You (2014)

In Everything I Never Told You, the renowned debut novel from the author of Little Fires Everywhere and Our Missing Hearts, returns with a compelling mystery and a poignant analysis of a mixed-race family.
November 9 Audiobook Free
Read More

November 9 (2015)

November 9 is a timeless love story between Fallon who meets Ben, a young aspiring writer, the day before she is scheduled to move across the country from best-selling author Colleen Hoover.
First Lie Wins Audiobook Free by Ashley Elston
Read More

First Lie Wins (2024)

First Lie Wins is a thrilling thriller by Ashley Elston, where Nina, a con artist, creates a false identity to infiltrate a wealthy social circle. As they unravel their web of secrets, the line between truth and deception blurs, leaving readers questioning their trustworthiness.
Something in the Water Free Audiobook
Read More

Something in the Water (2018)

Something in the Water is a psychological thriller by Catherine Steadman. The story follow the newlyweds in their honeymoon. Erin is an aspiring documentary filmmaker who's on the verge of making her first professional film. Mark is a handsome investment banker with ambitious dreams. They're madly in love, so they decide to go on their dream honeymoon to the beautiful tropical island of Bora Bora. While scuba diving in the clear blue sea, they find some kind of treasure...
Nine Perfect Strangers Free Audiobook
Read More

Nine Perfect Strangers (2018)

Nine Perfect Strangers is the eagerly awaited new novel by the world-famous bestselling author of Big Little Lies. Nine people gather at an isolated health resort. Some people come here to lose weight, others come here to reset their lives, and others just come here because they don't know why they're here. Despite all of the luxury and indulgence, they know that these ten days might include some real work. None of them could imagine just what a challenge the next ten days are about to be.