divergent book series in order

Divergent Book Series

Divergent Series In Order: How To Read Veronica Roth’s Books.

The Book Guide® is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

With her debut novel, Divergent, Veronica Roth has burst onto the literary scene. It’s a dystopian thriller filled with electrifying decisions and heart-wrenching betrayals.

What is the Divergent series about? What You Need To Know.

The Divergent Saga

The Divergent series was written by Veronica Roth. It is a young adult science fiction series. The story takes place within a dystopian society divided into five different factions: Candor (honest), Abnegation (selfless), Dauntless (brave), Amity (peaceful), and Erudite (intelligent). In this dystopian society, citizens are defined according to their social and personality-based affiliations in order to remove any threat of anyone exercising independent thought. We follow Beatrice Prior who changes her name to Tris. She was born into Abnegation and transferred into Dauntless, and she has to figure out her life as one of them while hiding her true nature from everyone else and living with the danger that she might be killed if it is discovered that she is Divergent.

Who is Veronica Roth? The Author Behind The Divergent Saga.

Veronica Roth

Veronica Roth, born in 1988, is an American writer known for her Divergent trilogy of science-fiction novels for young adults, which unfolds as a coming-of-age story set in a post apocalyptic Chicago. Before graduating from Northwestern University in 2010, Roth wrote Divergent, the first book in the trilogy, over the winter break during her senior season. The book was sold to HarperCollins the next month. It debuted in 2011 and was number six on the New York Times best-seller list. Insurgent, released in 2012, took the number one spot on the list. Roth had clearly hit the right note when she released her dystopian novel trilogy. Her novels came on the heels of the popular Twilight and Hunger Games young adult series. Roth’s fans grew quickly, and when Allegiant came out in 2013, it was the most pre-ordered book ever published by HarperCollins. The trilogy was a massive commercial success, selling more than 30 million copies by 2015.

Tip: If you want to watch all the movies of the Divergent series, you can get the FREE TRIAL of Amazon Prime Video by clicking here

Divergent Books in Order: How to read Veronica Roth’s Series:

There are four books in the Divergent series and this is the correct sequence for reading them:

Four: A Divergent Collection

(Free with Audible Trial)

A prequel to the Divergent trilogy. This book collects the four short stories: The Transfer, The Initiate, The Son and The Traitor. They tell Tobias’s backstory, and they explain some of the mysteries of the world before Tris chooses Dauntless. It’s best to read this after reading the main trilogy.


(Free with Audible Trial)

Beatrice Prior has to decide whether she wants to stay with her Abnegation faction or transfer to another one. She’ll be surprised by her choice. But the newly christen­ed Tris has a secret, one that she’s determined not to let anyone know, because in this world what makes you different makes people dangerous.


(Free with Audible Trial)

As war surges in different parts of dystopian Chicago, Tris tries to save those she loves – and herself – while grappling with haunting questions of guilt and forgiveness, identity and love, politics and love. Veronica Roth’s much-awaited second book of the dystopian novel series Divergent is yet another thrilling thrill ride of a story.


(Free with Audible Trial)

Tris and Tobias face an impossible choice between bravery, loyalty, self-sacrifice, and love. The explosive conclusion to the #1 New York Times bestseller Divergent trilogy reveals the secret of the dystopian world that captured readers’ imaginations in Divergent and Insurgent.

Related Posts
the rings of power book
Read More

The Lord of the Rings Book Series

The Lord of the Rings series is one of the most popular book series ever written. Tolkien’s works and world inspired many modern fantasy authors. He is widely considered to be one of the fathers of modern epic fantasy.
Kingkiller Chronicle Book Series in order
Read More

Kingkiller Chronicle Book Series

The Kingkiller Chronicle book series by Patrick Rothfuss is a mesmerizing epic fantasy that tells the story of Kvothe, a legendary wizard and musician, as he recounts his life story to a chronicler. Rothfuss' writing is both lyrical and captivating, with a well-crafted world full of magic, intrigue, and danger. The characters are multi-dimensional and realistic, with Kvothe being a particularly compelling protagonist. The books are a perfect balance of action, suspense, and romance, keeping readers engaged and invested throughout the series.
the twilight saga in order
Read More

The Twilight Saga

Twilight was Stephenie Meyer’stakeout hit as an author. A young adult vampire-romantic fantasy written by American author Stephenie Meyer, The Twilight Saga is a young adult vampire-love story about the love story between 17-year-old human Bella Swan and a 104-year old vampire named Edward Cullen. Most of the story takes place from Bella’s point of view. It was one of the biggest phenomena of the 2000s, selling 160 million copies worldwide. It has been adapted into a series of five romance fantasy films by Summit Entertainment, starring Kirsten Stewart and Robert Pat­tinson.
Uglies Books in order
Read More

The Uglies Book Series

The first installment of the New York Times bestselling and award-winning Uglies series was a global phenomenon that started this dystopian trend.
Gray Man Book Series
Read More

Gray Man Book Series

Gray Man follows the story of Court Gentry. He was the CIA’ s best covert asset a few years ago. Suddenly, his masters at the agency put him at the top of their kill list. He became an enigmatic killer for hire known as the Gray Man, who was known for killing people without any trace of evidence.
He Who Fights with Monsters Book Series
Read More

He Who Fights with Monsters Book Series in Order

An LitRPG adventure game where you play as an apprentice wizard. Jason wakes up in an unknown world of magic and monsters. It’s hard to make the career jump from an office supplies store manager to an interdimensional adventurer. It’s hard to be good if all your powers are evil, but at least Jason tries to try. An isekai culture clash!
Top 5 LGBTQ+ Books for Pride Day
Read More

Top 5 LGBTQ+ Books for Pride Day

Dive into the colorful world of literature and celebrate the power of love, acceptance, and diversity with these five incredible books. Whether you identify as LGBTQ+ or simply want to expand your understanding and empathy, these stories will touch your heart and broaden your horizons. Let's spread the love and amplify the voices of these remarkable authors!
Read More

Stormlight Archive Book Series

The Stormlight Archive series is an epic fantasy saga set on the world of Roshar. It follows the lives of a diverse cast of characters, each with their own struggles and ambitions, as they navigate the complex politics and magic systems of the world. The series is known for its rich world-building, intricate plot twists, and compelling characters, and has been praised for its exploration of themes such as redemption, sacrifice, and the nature of power.