The Sandman Book Series

The Sandman Series In Order: How To Read Neil Gaiman’s Books.

The Book Guide® is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The Sandman combines fantasy and horror in the distinctive Gaiman way, yet it also incorporates real history, ancient mythologies, and a variety of other elements into its dark take on DC comic book characters.

What is The Sandman series about? What You Need To Know.

The Sandman TV Series (Netflix)

Lord Morpheus’ tale is told in The Sandman. The Lord of Dreams is pulled from the dream realm he personifies into a criminal organization on Earth, setting off a series of events that includes Lucifer, Doctor Destiny, and many more. Neil Gaiman’s Sandman comic aims for the sanctity of dreams via an outstanding tale combination of genres and circumstances. Some people never stop dreaming. Others’ nightmares are just the beginning of a dark dream country.

The Sandman Books in Order: How to read Neil Gaiman’s Series:

There are three books in the Sandman series and this is the correct sequence for reading them.

The Sandman: Act I

(Free with Audible Trial)

The eternal ruler of dreams, storytelling, and imagination known as Lord Morpheus, also known as The Sandman, is taken from his realm and imprisoned on Earth by a sinister cult. It takes him a long time to get free. After escaping, he must find the three “items” that will give him back his power and enable him to rebuild his kingdom, which has declined while he was away. The Sandman encounters a variety of figures from DC comic books, old myths, and historical figures as the multi-threaded plot develops, including Arkham Asylum inmates, Doctor Destiny, the muse Calliope, the three Fates, William Shakespeare (Arthur Darvill), and many others. He also chases rogue nightmares that have escaped his realm.

The Sandman: Act II

(Free with Audible Trial)

The dark dream continues in Act II, which is crammed with of action, as the Sandman travels through the French Revolution, ancient Rome, 19th-century San Francisco, eighth-century Baghdad, and beyond. Numerous new and well-known characters are voiced by a diverse group of actors, including fan favorites Simon Vance and Ray Porter as well as Kat Dennings, Regé-Jean Page, Emma Corrin, Michael Sheen, Kristen Schaal, Brian Cox, John Lithgow, and Jeffrey Wright.

The Sandman: Act III

(Free with Audible Trial)

Act III follows Morpheus as he embarks on a lengthy journey to handle family business. He brings his son Orpheus (Regé-Jean Page of Bridgerton), which has significant ramifications. He seeks out their estranged brother, Destruction (David Harewood, Supergirl), the only Endless to ever resign from their position, assisted by Delirium (Kristen Schaal, Bob’s Burgers). A storm that poses a threat to reality’s survival also forces a group of travelers to come together at an inn at the crossroads of all worlds, with serious consequences for Morpheus and the other Endless.

Related Posts
H. D. Carlton Books in Order
Read More

H. D. Carlton Books in Order

H.D. Carlton, a prolific author known for her captivating storytelling, has gifted readers with a diverse array of literary gems. If you’re eager to explore her works, here’s the chronological order of her books:
2022 Michael L Printz Award for Teen Literature
Read More

2022 Michael L. Printz Award for Teen Literature

Those are the most remarkable books written for a young adult audience this year. Every year, the "best book published for teenagers, based exclusively on its literary value" is honored with the Michael L. Printz Award, a literary honor presented by the American Library Association.
Jack Reacher books in order
Read More

Introducing Jack Reacher: How to read the Lee Child book series.

Jack Reacher is a series of 26 action and suspense books, created by the English author Lee Child. This saga has been made into a movie and the new Amazon Prime TV series has recently become a hit. This action-packed thriller series unravels tightly wound plots combining crime, suspense, and contemporary issues. Each thriller has its own unique protagonist: an independent man who protects the weak and avenges the wronged. Jack Reacher’s books aren’t published chronologically.
Cat and Mouse Duet by H. D. Carlton
Read More

Cat and Mouse Duet by H. D. Carlton

Cat and Mouse Duet is a captivating series that blends romance, suspense, and psychological twists to create a dark and intense thriller. The series is a testament to H. D. Carlton’s storytelling prowess, weaving together an intricate tale of love and intrigue that leaves readers yearning for more.
5 Must-Read Romance Novels for Valentines Day
Read More

5 Must-Read Romance Novels for Valentine’s Day

With Valentine's Day just around the corner, it's the perfect time to curl up with a good romance novel. Whether you're in a relationship or happily single, romance books have the power to transport you to a world of passion, love, and heartbreak.
Books by John Gray
Read More

Books by Dr. John Gray

The author of Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus and the most popular relationship author of all time is John Gray, Ph.D. With over 50 million copies of his novels have been sold worldwide in 50 different languages. John Gray has led public and private seminars for thousands of attendees for more than 35 years.