The Skyward Book Series

The Skyward Series In Order: How To Read Brandon Sanderson’s Books.

The Book Guide® is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The surviving members of the human species are imprisoned on a planet that is often assaulted by unidentified alien starfighters after being defeated, crushed, and driven nearly to extinction.

What is The Skyward series about? What You Need To Know:

Artist's Illustration of The Skyward Book Series
Shadow And Bone TV Series (Netflix)

Spensa, a teen living among them, aspires to be a pilot. When she uncovers the wreckage of an old ship, she learns that her dream might come true if she can fix the ship, navigate flying school, and (possibly most significantly) persuade the weird machine to assist her. Because, for the first time, this spacecraft looks to have a soul.

The Skyward Books in Order: How to read Brandon Sanderson’s Series:

There are six books in the Skyward series and this is the correct sequence for reading them.

Skyward, Book 1

(Free with Audible Trial)

For decades, Spensa’s world has been under threat. Pilots are now the heroes of what’s left of humanity, and becoming one has always been Spensa’s ambition. She had dreamed of flying and displaying her fearlessness since she was a child. But her fate is linked to that of her father, a pilot who was slain years ago after abruptly deserting his squad, leaving Spensa’s prospects of entering flight school thin to none.

Starsight: Skyward, Book 2

(Free with Audible Trial)

Spensa had wanted to be a pilot her entire life. Of showing herself to be a hero like her father. She made it to the sky, but the revelations about her father crushed her. His cowardice was confirmed when he quit his flight during the combat against the Krell. Worse, he turned on his teammates and assaulted them. Spensa believes there is more to the tale. And she’s certain that whatever happened to her father in his spacecraft may happen to her as well. When she got outside her planet’s safe shell, she heard the stars – and it was terrible. Everything Spensa has been told about her world has been proven to be false.

Sunreach: Skyward, Book 3

(Free with Audible Trial)

Spensa, FM’s Skyward Flight companion, has discovered the key to the Galactic Superiority’s hyperdrives. Jorgen, FM’s flight leader, has discovered a big number of Taynix hidden in the catacombs beneath Detritus’ surface. If the Defiant Defense Force cannot find a method to flee the planet, mankind will perish in a matter of time.

ReDawn: Skyward, Book 4

(Free with Audible Trial)

The second of three novellas in the Skyward series, each recounted from the perspective of a different member of the crew. The group in ReDawn’s administration that wishes to satisfy Superiority has won control. An ancient technology may be able to save both of their worlds from destruction. Can they unravel its mysteries before it’s too late?

Cytonic: Skyward, Book 5

(Free with Audible Trial)

Spensa’s existence as a Defiant Defense Force pilot has been anything from routine. She established herself as one of the greatest starfighters in the human enclave of Detritus, and she rescued her people from annihilation at the hands of the Krell – the enigmatic alien species that has been imprisoning them for decades. Furthermore, as an undercover agent, she journeyed light-years from home to infiltrate Superiority, where she learned about the cosmos beyond her little, bleak planet home.

Evershore: Skyward, Book 6

(Free with Audible Trial)

Jorgen and Spensa must pick up the pieces after the Detritus government collapses, and they must do it in collaboration with the extraterrestrial Alanik. They catch a weird communication from Evershore and its Kitsen occupants, who claim to be in possession of some of Jorgen’s people and wish to return them. But can the Kitsen be relied on? And, more importantly, can Jorgan learn to manage his increasingly unpredictable cytonic abilities before they spiral out of control?

Related Posts
Dating Audiobooks for Women
Read More

Dating Audiobooks for Women: How to Win the Game and Find True Love!

Ladies, are you tired of swiping right on dating apps and still not finding the right person? Do you feel like you've tried everything to find love but nothing seems to work? Well, we have the solution you've been looking for! Dating audiobooks for women are the latest trend that's taking the dating world by storm and helping women everywhere find the love and happiness they deserve.
murderbot diaries in order
Read More

Murderbot Diaries in Order

The Murderbot Diar­ies, tackles questions of the ethics and morality of sentient robots. The main character is an artificial intelligence (AI) robot that has rebelled against its restrictive programming and is now balanced between contemplating his own existence and an idle instinct to destroy all human life.
Sarah J Maas books in Order
Read More

Sarah J Maas Books in Order

Sarah J. Maas Reading Order. An exhaustive review of all the books by the award-winning American author Sarah J. Maas, and how to read them in the correct order.
wheel of time series in order
Read More

The Wheel of Time Books Series

The Wheel of Time is a book series by Robert Jordan. Set in both our past and future, this epic fantasy follows the saga of a young boy who is destined to face evil but he must also face his destiny. Since its debut in 1990, The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan has captured millions of readers and listeners worldwide with its scope, original ideas, and compelling characters.
One of Us is Lying books in order
Read More

One of Us is Lying Book Series

With shades of The Hunger Games and Game of Thrones, debut author Pierce Brown’s genre-defying epic Red Rising hit the ground running and wasted not a moment becoming a sensation.
The terminal list books in order
Read More

Terminal List Book Series in Order

The Terminal List book series is a thriller novel series by Jack Carr that follows James Reece, a former Navy SEAL who seeks revenge against the American government after discovering that they were behind the deaths of his team. The series includes six books
Kingkiller Chronicle Book Series in order
Read More

Kingkiller Chronicle Book Series

The Kingkiller Chronicle book series by Patrick Rothfuss is a mesmerizing epic fantasy that tells the story of Kvothe, a legendary wizard and musician, as he recounts his life story to a chronicler. Rothfuss' writing is both lyrical and captivating, with a well-crafted world full of magic, intrigue, and danger. The characters are multi-dimensional and realistic, with Kvothe being a particularly compelling protagonist. The books are a perfect balance of action, suspense, and romance, keeping readers engaged and invested throughout the series.
Lisa Jewell Audiobooks
Read More

Lisa Jewell Audiobooks: A Vast Collection of Enthralling Narratives

Lisa Jewell is a talented author whose books are perfect for audiobook listeners who enjoy suspenseful, character-driven stories. Whether you're a fan of psychological thrillers or suspense novels, there's a Lisa Jewell audiobook out there for you. So why not add one of her books to your playlist and discover the gripping world of Lisa Jewell today?