The Mortal Instruments Book Series

The Mortal Instruments Series In Order: How To Read Cassandra Clare’s Books.

The Book Guide® is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Cassandra Clare’s fiercely entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild voyage that they won’t want to finish. It is exotic and gritty, thrilling, and completely captivating.

What is The Mortal Instruments series about? What You Need To Know.

The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones Movie

Clary Fray, 15, goes to the Pandemonium Club in New York City expecting to see a murder, much less one committed by three teens covered in unusual tattoos and using strange weapons. Then the corpse vanishes into thin air. It’s difficult to contact the cops when the killers are invisible to everyone else and there’s nothing – not even a speck of blood – to indicate that a youngster has died. Was he a boy?

The Mortal Instruments Books in Order: How to read Cassandra Clare’s Series:

There are six books in The Mortal Instruments series and this is the correct sequence for reading them.

City of Bones: The Mortal Instruments Book 1

(Free with Audible Trial)

Clary is meeting the Shadowhunters for the first time. They are warriors committed to cleansing the world of demons. It’s also her first meeting with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks like an angel but acts like a jerk. Clary is drawn into Jace’s world with a fury within twenty-four hours, when her mother disappears and she is assaulted by a demon. But why would demons care about regular people like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary obtain the Sight so suddenly? The Shadowhunters are curious…

City of Ashes: The Mortal Instruments Book 2

(Free with Audible Trial)

Being a Shadowhunter, Clary Fray has the ability to see creatures from the Underworld, such as werewolves, vampires, and faeries. Clary’s best friend, Simon, and she would spend more time together if she left the Shadowhunters’ realm. The Shadowhunting community, notably her recently discovered brother Jace, is not ready to let her go. Clary must find renegade Shadowhunter Valentine if she is to have any hope of aiding her mother.

City of Glass: The Mortal Instruments Book 3

(Free with Audible Trial)

Clary finds a supporter in the intriguing Shadow-hunter Sebastian as she learns more about her family’s history. Their only opportunity to stop Valentine, who is using all of his might to eliminate all Shadow-hunters forever, is to fight with their enduring foes. But is it possible for Shadowhunters and Downworlders to put their animosity aside and cooperate? Can Clary use her newly discovered talents to defend the Glass City at whatever cost, even while Jace is fully aware of the extent of his willingness to risk everything for her?

City of Fallen Angels: The Mortal Instruments Book 4

(Free with Audible Trial)

The story continues where City of Glass left off in City of Fallen Angels. Clary believed they would eventually get together. But she discovers that the past can never truly be forgotten when someone starts killing the former Shadowhunters of Valentine’s Circle. A vampire conflict starts when Camille Belcourt returns to New York’s vampire clans with an iron grip.

City of Lost Souls: Mortal Instruments Book 5

(Free with Audible Trial)

The Mortal Instruments series, which has been a New York Times best-seller, is still going strong, keeping Jace, Clary, and Simon in suspense and peril. Can the missing be found? Is there anything too expensive to pay for love? When sin and salvation clash, in whom can we put our trust? In the terrifying fifth installment of the Mortal Instruments series, the Shadowhunters are in danger of being consumed by darkness.

City of Heavenly Fire: The Mortal Instruments, Book 6

(Free with Audible Trial)

The world of the Shadowhunters has become dark. As Clary, Jace, Simon, and their companions unite to battle the greatest evil they have ever encountered: Clary’s own brother, chaos and ruin overtake the Nephilim. Sebastian is unbeatable in this world, but if they travel to the land of demons, they might have a chance. The world will alter, lives will be lost, and love will be sacrificed. Who will make it through the explosive Mortal Instruments series’ sixth and final episode?

Related Posts
Read More

Renegades Book Series

The Renegades Series is a high-stakes world of adventure, romance, danger, and treachery is introduced by Marissa Meyer, the author of the number one best-selling book in the New York Times.
Cat and Mouse Duet by H. D. Carlton
Read More

Cat and Mouse Duet by H. D. Carlton

Cat and Mouse Duet is a captivating series that blends romance, suspense, and psychological twists to create a dark and intense thriller. The series is a testament to H. D. Carlton’s storytelling prowess, weaving together an intricate tale of love and intrigue that leaves readers yearning for more.
Lisa Jewell Audiobooks
Read More

Lisa Jewell Audiobooks: A Vast Collection of Enthralling Narratives

Lisa Jewell is a talented author whose books are perfect for audiobook listeners who enjoy suspenseful, character-driven stories. Whether you're a fan of psychological thrillers or suspense novels, there's a Lisa Jewell audiobook out there for you. So why not add one of her books to your playlist and discover the gripping world of Lisa Jewell today?
The Witcher Book Series in order
Read More

The Witcher Book Series

Before becoming a Netflix TV show and a video game series, The Witcher was a fantasy series written by a Polish author named Andrzej Sapkowksi including a collection of novels and short stories.
100 Audiobooks to Awaken Your Spirit and Live Your Best Life
Read More

100 Audiobooks to Awaken Your Spirit, and Live Your Best Life (Part I)

In this series of Editor's Guides named "100 Audiobooks to Awaken Your Spirit, and Live Your Best Life" we’ve compiled a list of the 100 best audiobooks to imrpove your relationships, and boost your confidence and self-steem. Whether you’re looking to improve your productivity, find your purpose in life, or simply learn more about yourself, these audiobooks will help you on your journey.
Read More

The Skyward Book Series

In The Skyward Series, the surviving members of the human species are imprisoned on a planet that is often assaulted by unidentified alien starfighters after being defeated, crushed, and driven nearly to extinction.